Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

Tony Awards

The Antoinette Perry (‘Tony’) Awards for Excellence in Theatre recognize and celebrate achievement in live Broadway theatre.

The awards are presented annually by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League. Though the casting field has yet to be officially recognized with a Tony award for Casting, the CSA continues to make proposals to the Tony Administration Committee for consideration of an award. In 2003, the Tony Administration gave a special Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre to Casting Directors Geoffrey Johnson and Vincent Liff for their extraordinary achievement over two decades of work on Broadway. Various Casting Directors or Casting Executives have occasionally been asked to sit on the rotating Tony Nomination Committee, where they are actively involved in the Tony nomination process. Separately, each season 15 CSA Casting Directors are designated to be Tony Voters, with full voting privileges. These designated Casting Directors are pleased to vote annually in every Tony Award category.