Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content



January 6, 2015




Final Ballots Distributed Today


HOLLYWOOD, CA (January 6, 2015) – The Casting Society of America (CSA) has unveiled its feature film nominees for the 30th Annual Artios Awards. Final film ballots have been distributed and votes can be entered at, through Monday, January 12th. All winners for film, television, theater and new media categories will be announced at the 30th Annual Artios Awards on January 22, 2015, during the height of awards season, with award ceremonies to be held simultaneously at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles (reception will commence at 6:00 p.m. PT) and at 42WEST (formerly XL Nightclub), Cabaret & Lounge (514 West 42nd Street) in New York (reception will commence at 6:00 p.m. ET).

The bicoastal awards show will be hosted by Patton Oswalt (Los Angeles) and Michael Urie (New York City). The evening will also honor two-time Academy Award®-nominee Richard Linklater (Boyhood) with the Career Achievement Award; Academy Award®-nominated and Emmy Award®-winning director Rob Marshall (Into the Woods) with the New York Apple Award; and Emmy Award®-winning casting director Ellen Lewis with the Hoyt Bowers Award.

Francine Maisler leads the film contenders with four nominations for her work in casting: Into the Woods, Birdman, 12 Years a Slave and Captain Phillips. Due to the Artios Awards date change this year, the eligibility period for film projects was expanded for this award ceremony only, to include films released theatrically from July 1, 2013 through December 31, 2014.

Across all categories, James Calleri leads with eight nominations (theater categories), followed by Bernard Telsey (television, theater and film categories) and Daniel Swee (theater categories) with seven nominations each.

Feature film nominees announced today include:

Big Budget Comedy

Guardians of the Galaxy – Sarah Finn, Reg Poerscout-Edgerton, Tamara Hunter


Into The Woods – Francine Maisler, Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty – Rachel Tenner, Charlene Lee (Associate), Bess Fifer


This is Where I Leave You – Cindy Tolan, Adam Caldwell (Associate)

We’re the Millers – Lisa Beach, Sarah Katzman, Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location

Casting), Jeremy Gordon (Associate), Beth Lipari (Associate), Dana Salerno


The Wolf of Wall Street – Ellen Lewis


Big Budget Drama

12 Years a Slave – Francine Maisler, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Melissa

Kostenbauder (Associate)

American Hustle – Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Angela Peri (Location Casting)

Captain Phillips – Francine Maisler, Donna M. Belajac (Location Casting), Daniel Hubbard (Location Casting)

Foxcatcher – Jeanne McCarthy, Rori Bergman (Location Casting), Donna M. Belajac

(Location Casting), Matthew Maisto (Associate)

Gone Girl – Laray Mayfield, Annie Hamilton (Location Casting)

Selma – Aisha Coley, Robyn Owen (Associate)

Studio or Independent Comedy

Big Eyes – Jeanne McCarthy, Nicole Abellera, Coreen Mayrs (Location Casting), Heike

Brandstatter (Location Casting)

Chef – Sarah Finn, Tamara Hunter (Associate)

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Douglas Aibel, Jina Jay, Henry Russell Bergstein


Pride – Fiona Weir

St. Vincent – Laura Rosenthal

Top Five – Victoria Thomas, Matthew Maisto (Associate)

Studio or Independent Drama

Birdman – Francine Maisler

Blue Jasmine – Juliet Taylor, Patricia DiCerto, Nina Henninger (Location Casting)

Dallas Buyers Club – Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Rich Delia, Tracy Kilpatrick (Location

Casting), Allison Estrin (Associate)

Inside Llewyn Davis – Ellen Chenoweth, Amelia McCarthy (Associate)

The Theory of Everything – Nina Gold

Whiplash – Terri Taylor

Low Budget Comedy

Adult World – Jennifer Euston

Believe Me – JC Cantu, Beth Sepko (Location Casting)

Dear White People – Kim Taylor-Coleman

The Double – Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

Space Station 76 – Eric Souliere

Two Night Stand – Angela Demo, Julie Schubert (Location Casting)

Low Budget Drama

Boyhood – Beth Sepko

Cake – Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham

Camp X-Ray – Richard Hicks

Lonely Boy – Howard Meltzer

Short Term 12 – Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Rich Delia, Allison Estrin (Associate)

The Spectacular Now – Angela Demo, Tracy Kilpatrick (Location Casting)



Big Hero 6 – Jamie Sparer Roberts

The Book of Life – Christian Kaplan

Frozen – Jamie Sparer Roberts

Monsters University – Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

Planes – Jason Henkel

Rio 2 – Christian Kaplan

Past Artios Award winners include the casting directors of: Silver Linings Playbook, Argo, The King’s Speech, The Social Network, Girls, Homeland, Modern Family, The Mindy Project, House of Cards, The Book of Mormon and Carousel. Previous attendees and presenters have included critically acclaimed talent, such as: Ben Affleck, Jennifer Garner, J.J. Abrams, Neil Patrick Harris, Jake Gyllenhaal, Chris Pine, Kerry Washington, Jeremy Renner, Diane Lane, Aisha Tyler and Marg Helgenberger. ‘Artios’ is an ancient Greek word meaning ‘perfectly fitted’ and the adjective is always used in the plural form.

About the Casting Society of America

The Casting Society of America (CSA) was founded in February of 1982 with the intention of establishing a recognized standard of professionalism in the casting field and providing its members with a support organization to further their goals and protect their common interests. CSA currently boasts more than 600 members. CSA Casting Directors and Associates work around the world, with members based in the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia and Africa. The CSA is a global resource for producers, directors and creative teams seeking casting professionals, while promoting the image of casting directors and associates worldwide, engaging in a number of charitable activities, and supporting its members by sharing important and helpful professional information. For more information on the Casting Society of America, please visit

Tweet This News: .@CSACasting announces feature film nominees for the 30th Annual #ArtiosAwards!

# # #

Site design by Distinc, Developed by CreativEngine