Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content


Complete list of 2013 Artios Winners

November 19, 2013



Los Angeles, November 18, 2013 – The Casting Society of America (CSA) announced the winners of the organization’s 29th Annual Artios Awards for outstanding achievement in casting.  The CSA celebrated their own on Monday, November 18, with award ceremonies held simultaneously at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles and at XL Nightclub, Cabaret & Lounge in New York.

This year's 2013 Honorees are: In N.Y., Golden Globe and Emmy Award winner Michael J. Fox took home the New York Apple Award; and in L.A., Nina Tassler, President of CBS Entertainment received the Career Achievement Award, and Casting Director Linda Lowy was given the Hoyt Bowers Award, and

Presented annually, the awards are given to CSA members using the criteria of originality, creativity and contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project. Named for the Greek word meaning “perfectly fitted,” the Artios Awards were first given in 1985 to honor excellence in casting and was held at the Crystal Room of the Beverly Hills Hotel attended by 500 industry leaders. The first New York awards were first given in 1988.

The ceremony was hosted in Los Angeles by Aisha Tyler and in New York by Harvey Fierstein. LA presenters included Jake Gyllenhaal, Kerry Washington, Michael B. Jordan, Jonathan Groff, Aisha Tyler, Liam James, Marg Helgenberger, Ana Ortiz and Constance Zimmer. In New York, awards were presented by Uzo Aduba, Keegan Allen, Hank Azaria, Orlando Bloom, Betsy Brandt, Danielle Brooks, Josh Charles, Gabriel Ebert, Richard Kind, Judith Light, Zosia Mamet, Emily Mortimer, Hannah Nordberg, Billy Porter, Carrie Preston, David Rasche, Condola Rashad, Corey Stoll, Daniel Sunjata, Aaron Tveit, and Samara Wiley, among others.



Big Budget Feature – Comedy

 “Silver Linings Playbook,” Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Diane Heery (Location Casting), Jason Loftus (Location Casting)

Big Budget Feature – Drama

“Argo,” Lora Kennedy

Feature – Studio or Independent  – Comedy

“Moonrise Kingdom,” Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

Feature – Studio or Independent – Drama

 “Mud,” Francine Maisler, Diana Guthrie (Location Casting)

Low Budget Feature – Comedy or Drama

 “The Sessions,” Ronnie Yeskel

Animation Feature

 “Wreck-It Ralph,” Jamie Sparer Roberts

Short Film

 “The Learning Curve,” Kendra Patterson

Television Pilot Comedy

 “The Mindy Project,” Felicia Fasano

Television Pilot Drama

 “House of Cards,” Laray Mayfield

Television Series Comedy

 “Girls,” Jennifer Euston

Television Series Drama

 “Homeland,” Judy Henderson, Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting), Craig Fincannon (Location Casting)

Television Movie or Mini Series

 “Behind the Candelabra,” Carmen Cuba, Wittney Horton (Associate)

Daytime Drama Series

 “The Young and the Restless,” Judy Blye Wilson

Children’s Series

 “iCarly,” Krisha Bullock, Jennifer K.M. Treadwell (Associate)

Television Animation

 “Family Guy,” Linda Lamontagne

New York Broadway Theatre – Comedy

 “Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike,” Daniel Swee 

New York Broadway Theatre – Drama

 “Golden Boy,” Daniel Swee

New York Broadway Theatre – Musical

 “Kinky Boots,” Bernard Telsey, Justin Huff

New York Theatre – Comedy or Musical

 “The Madrid,” David Caparelliotis

New York Theatre – Drama

“If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet,” Jim Carnahan

Regional Theatre East

 “The Glass Menagerie,” Jim Carnahan, Stephen Kopel

Regional Theatre West

 “Pygmalion,” David Caparelliotis

Los Angeles Theatre

 “Joe Turner’s Come and Gone,” Joanne DeNaut, Andy Crocker (Associate)

Special Theatrical Performance East

“Carousel,” Jay Binder, Jack Bowdan

Special Theatrical Performance West

“The Book of Mormon,” Carrie Gardner


Career Achievement Award

Nina Tassler

Hoyt Bowers Awards

Linda Lowy

New York Apple Award

Michael J. Fox

Casting Society of America (CSA) is the premiere organization of theatrical casting directors in film, television, and theatre.   A united professional society, CSA consistently sets the level of professionalism in casting on which the entertainment industry has come to rely:  by being passionately committed  to  establishing  a  recognized  standard  of  professionalism  in  the industry, enhancing the stature of the profession in the industry, freely exchanging information and  ideas  among  members,  providing  the  opportunity  to  honor  the  outstanding  achievements of its members, and providing members with professional support and resources.  With more than 500 members, the CSA has representation in the United States, Canada, Europe, England, Australia, and South Africa.  For further information, please visit:


#  #  #  #

 Download the 2013 Artios Winners Press Release

Site design by Distinc, Developed by CreativEngine